Some News

In the past few months I’ve been up to some exciting things, that I thought I would update here.
First, Jackie and Kevin 1977 screened at several more festivals- One Voice Youth Film Festival in Bournemouth and Animated Exeter, and will also be showing out of competition at Stuttgart in May. I was incredibly excited to learn that my film won two awards at One Voice, for Best Animation and Best Soundtrack, and also placed second in the Graduates ‘Animation Direction’ category at Animated Exeter, where the judges said described it as “An incredibly original idea, executed in a consistent and sensitive style.
This especially was an incredible honour, and I wish I could have been there to experience it. Animated Exeter is where I first got the chance to try animation, where I fell in love with it and realised that it was what I wanted to study at university. So to be recognised there is amazing.
Jackie and Kevin 1977 also screened on the opening night at the Regal Cinema in Evesham (as part of a mini programme put together by Encounters) and is being shown as part of the BBC Big Screens project, which shows short films on big, public screens in 22 cities across the UK. I only heard about this by a friend walking past the screen in central Cardiff whilst J&K was showing, so perhaps lots of people have seen it now, which is nice.

In non-J&K related news, We Weren’t The First Ones Here, a film I made in second year with Kate Broadhurst, Emma-Rose Dade, Helen Dallat and Joseph Wallace, featured on animation/motion graphics blog Motionographer, as well as various other places online. You can view the post here and also link through to the film on Vimeo.
So this isn’t just words, here is a picture of an actual award with Jackie and Kevin written on it.

One thought on “Some News

  1. HI Daisy, I happened upon your blog while looking at images of houses in the Haight District of San Francisco. I love your work. I am an artist and have been interested in animating my illustrations. I have no idea how I will do it. For the moment, I am inspired by your work and grateful to have found it.

    Warmly,
    Alma de la Melena Cox
    San Rafael, CA

Leave a Reply

